This is the "5. Journals and Newspapers" page of the "Library Orientation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Orientation  

Overview of (1) what resources are available and (2) how to find them in the CGTC Library.
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2017 URL: http://libguides.centralgatech.edu/orientation Print Guide RSS Updates

5. Journals and Newspapers Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching for Articles in a Database

There are many different ways to find magazine and newspaper articles online.  Through GALILEO, you have access to several databases containing thousands of journals and millions of articles on a wide variety of topics.  Below are some tips how to search the main two databases: EBSCOHost and Proquest.  It is recommended that you try both of these databases to get your search started.  Remember, if you need assistance in finding materials - you should always contact the library staff.

 


BASIC SEARCH

Just exploring?  Enter your keyword search terms into the basic search bar, just like you would for a search engine (Google, Yahoo, etc.).  Example searches using the basic search option are:

  • bears
  • coronary artery disease
  • internal combustion engine

 


NARROWING YOUR SEARCH RESULTS

Are you searching for articles on a specific event or by a particular person?  Do you need an article written recently?  Try narrowing your search results using one or several of these techniques:

  • DATE - By default, your search results will include articles from all dates in the database.  Sometimes, you need information from a certain time period (published in the 1960s or published this week).  Specify a particular date, or range of dates, to limit your results.
  • ADD SEARCH TERMS - Each database contains thousands of articles.  Your first search may turn up thousands of articles!  Adding more words or phrases to your search will help narrow the list of articles to read.  If you initially searched for "bears", you may refine your result by adding more terms.  Both EBSCOHost and Proquest will suggest additional search terms on the results screen.  The suggested terms will be hyperlinked, which means you can click on the terms and the database will automatically refine your search results.  You can also identify your own search terms and type those into the search box.  A more refined search may look like one of these examples:
    • bears AND conservation
    • "formosan black bear"
  • SCHOLARLY or PEER-REVIEWED ARTICLES - For most course work, you can easily narrow your results list by looking for peer-reviewed or scholarly journals only.  Scholarly journals have additional criteria that an article must meet before it is published.  For example, the Journal of the American Medical Association will have each article reviewed by experts to assure accuracy and credibility before the article is published.  See the images below for instructions on limiting your search in EBSCO and Proquest.

 

 

 

 


BROWSE BY PUBLICATION

Looking for a certain magazine, newspaper or journal?  You can browse all available issues for any publication in a database. From the GALILEO homepage (http://www.galileo.usg.edu) , click on the "Journals A-Z tab".  Type the name of the publication you would like to read in the search box and click the "Find Journal" button.  In the example below, the user is searching for the Macon Telegraph.

After you click on the "Find Journal" button, GALILEO will show you where to go to read all the issues for that publication.  In the example below, you will see that the Macon Telegraph is available online.  The user would need to choose result #3.  GALILEO will tell you which database to use and provide a link directly to the publication. 

 

DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS FOR USING POPULAR GALILEO DATABASES ARE AVAILABLE BY CLICKING HERE!

Print Journals and Newspapers

periodical shelves on the Macon campus

Printed newspapers, magazines, and journals are available at all three campus libraries. Choose your campus below to see a list of magazines.  

Magazines and newspapers are for use inside the library only.  A copier is available for black and white photocopies.

Local and State News Archives

Looking for historic information on Macon, Milledgeville, or Georgia? Check out the newspaper archives available online through the Digital Library of Georgia.

Digital Library of Georgia

 


 

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS

NEED THE PASSWORD?

You will need to know the current GALILEO password to use any online library resource.

Check the "Resources" tab on the Student Portal for the GALILEO password OR contact the library for assistance.

 

Suggested Databases

Need a starting place to find information online?  Check out some of these databases!

EBSCOHost Database

Proquest Database

 

Finding the Right Database

Confused by GALILEO? Need help finding the right database?

1.  Start your search in EBSCOHost and ProQuest.  These two databases have the largest collections in GALILEO and cover a wide variety of topics. 

2.  If you are looking for more specific subject areas or types of information - click here to view a helpful tutorial from GALILEO on Finding the Right Database.

 

Interlibrary Loan

children's books

Need help finding an article?

Having trouble finding the full text of an article in the library collection?  Let us know!  We may be able to obtain a copy for you through Interlibrary Loan.  Contact the library for more information.

CGTC Library Staff

NEED HELP?

Profile Image
Allison Repzynski
Contact Info
CGTC, Macon Campus
I Building, Room 202
Macon, GA 31206
Send Email
Library Phone:
478-757-3549
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip